current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Grandma
2006-08-14, 1:55 p.m.

So it's another Monday huh? Things were good this weekend. We went to visit my grandma this weekend and it was hard. She is not doing well at all. Eagle and I are talking about the idea of moving her in with us. But I told Eagle that she is the one with most of the work. It was her idea in the first place, but I told her to think about it for awhile first. That's a lot of responsibility. If we did do it though, I'd still have the comfort care people come to the house every day to do routine stuff. But at least this way, Grandma could spend the last of her time with family and not in a nursing home. When my mom was very sick and needed to be in a nursing home, I wanted very much to take her in. But at that time, I lived in an apartment and my husband was in a wheelchair suffering from psoriatic arthritis. There was no way I could care for them both and work full time. So now I feel like maybe this is my chance to make up for that. I don't know.

I know that I trust that Eagle would care for my grandmother...that is what Eagle does best, care for people who cannot care for themselves. She has worked with many seniors and adult developmentally disabled people. She has the knack for that. But ultimately, the choice is hers because the work would be hers. We'll just have to see.

Other than that, all is well. My leg is STILL sore, but I just keep plugging along.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two