current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

death even comes at Christmas time
2003-12-28, 10:10 a.m.

Well I made it through the holidays. It was a rough one, but I made it! However, I still have two funerals to go to yet. Who died? Two out of three grandmas that were still living. The one was my mother's step-mother. My mother's father (her husband), died a year ago and we knew that she would not last long without him. The other is my father's mother. They both died on December 26. I'm not really sure how I'm feeling about it. I had been close to both of them years ago, but not for the past five years. I definitely will miss them, but maybe I'm just in shock, I just don't seem to have any feelings about it. That could also be because I've lost so many people over the past few years that I'm just sort of used to it. I know that sounds horrible, but we all have to adjust in our own ways, and maybe that's how I've adjusted. I don't know. At any rate, Monday is my Grandma Marj's funeral, and Tuesday is my Grandma Delores' funeral.

My half-sister is down for my Grandma Marj's funeral, so I brought her to my house yesterday and she'll be staying with me till Monday. It's kind of nice to visit with her, without her three kids and hubby around. It gives us a chance to talk without distractions and it's been nice. I think maybe we have connected on a level that we never were able to before.

Yesterday she and I spent the entire day with our dad. We helped him make funeral arrangements, then he took us shopping for our Christmas gifts. I ended up getting a really nice Fuji Digital Camera.

Now that I've told MyLove about this diary, I'm not so concerned about putting pics of me up once in awhile, so don't be surprised to see my smiling face every now and then!

Other than that, my Christmas was good. I did spend most of it with MyLove. Not all of it however, and that did upset me, but whatever. I got over it and I got a beautiful engagement ring, a cool Emerson stereo, a great Bulova watch, plus some gifts that show she pays close attention to my likes. She got me my all time favorite movie on DVD (Dirty Dancing, if you must know); the Clay Aiken CD; three great books by three authors that I love, and a cute and cuddly stuffed dog, almost identical to the one I got her for Christmas!

Well I'm off now to play with my digital camera. If I figure it out, I might come back and add some pics to this entry.

Hope everyone had a great holiday.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two