current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Proactive vs. Inactive
2007-01-11, 8:54 a.m.

Eagle and I joined a group to fight for Marriage Equality. Yes we did. No more sitting on the couch bitching and moaning about our lack of rights. Now we are going to be DOING something about it. Or at least TRYING to do something about it.

Actually the group was formed by a minister and his partner of 12 years, and another gay couple from their church, and Eagle and Me. The minister said that he has a new approach to the fight. Basically the concept is that we put together a Right to Honor Resolution. The resolution basically says that since we all have freedom of religion we should all be free to honor any marriage of any faith without persecution. Basically it sort of slides in on the relgious side of things and does not taut itself as a "gay" thing, but as a relgious right. I'm probably not explaining this well, but it gave me a little bit of hope that maybe we can pry those doors that seem to be slamming shut on our cause lately. Plus it feels good to do something proactive.

So we will be meeting with our group probably once a week for awhile. The plan is to take the resolution to prominent figures in the State to get their endorsements. If anyone who still reads me has any suggestions, I'm open for it because I have NO IDEA what I'm doing here. But at least I am doing something finally.

Eagle did not want to go to the meeting, but I put the guilt trip on her and she did great. She talked, she was confident, and relaxed and intelligent. I so wish she could see hereself that way more often. I think that she psychs her self out of doing new things by picturing herself as unintelligent or some other degrading way and thinking that she will make a fool of herself, or people will laugh at her, and that's never what happens. She always entertains and engages people in a positive way. I've only seen one time in our three year history that she did not leave a good impression and that happened to be one time when she was at a party and drinking alot and got loud. That's only one time in the whole time I've known her and she doesn't drink anymore. So I wish she's cut herself a break and realize what a great person she is how much people like her when they meet her. I'm a lucky woman to have such a partner. Just wish she realized it too.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two