current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Bad news
2006-06-30, 8:50 a.m.

Well the doctor's visit was okay. He says its fine that I'm not wearing my boot. As long as I'm careful, and keep the ankle wrapped for support. The bad news is my bone is not healing. The plate is keeping it together, but you can plainly see in the x-ray that it's just not healing. He said that I basically shattered the bone and sometimes with injuries like that, it just doesn't want to heal. So, he wants to do a bone graft (sp?) and take some bone from my hip to put in my leg. He can do this procedure at the same time that he takes out the screws. He also gave me the option of using some artificial stuff instead of taking the bone from my hip. I'm not really sure yet, which option I'll take.

Eagle's mom suggested that I get a second opinion. I'm not sure what the point of that is. It's obvious the bone is not healing, I can see that with my own eyes, but I suppose it doesn't hurt, right? I'll have to see if my insurance will cover a second opinion.

So did I mention that they told me my check would be short this pay day because of the lapse in time from when I ran out of leave and when I turned in my advance leave request? Well they did, and I figured okay, I should have at least $150.00 based on the hours they said I'd be paid for. WRONG! My paycheck was $24.95. Yep, that sucks. I have to take out a payday advance now to get by for the next two weeks. I swear, when it rains it pours. THIS is why I need a savings account. And this is why I'm going to look at this as a sign and a motivator to start saving some money.

The only good news is, it's Friday.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two