current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

A raise
2006-07-25, 9:11 a.m.

I just realized that I didn't update yesterday. I just plumb forgot I guess. Things are going okay. I'm anxious to get my surgery over on Friday. I'm hoping that once the screws are out, I'll be able to recover fully soon.

I discovered the greatest thing since sliced bread....sliced bagels! Actually it's a bag of day old bagels that are sliced into bit size pieces. You get the equivalent of six various flavored bagels in a bag for 99 cents! Can you believe that? It's great, you take out a few pieces put some cream cheese on them and its perfect for breakfast. How pathetic is my life that this makes me so happy?

I saw my grandma over the weekend. She is not doing well. My aunt (the crazy one I stayed with) feels her ex-husband (my uncle) needs to get her into a place that will give her more care and I agree. The place was dark and dirty, she has nearly no eyesight anymore so she can't really clean. Her speech is getting very slurred and her mind seems to be failing her now. She's 86 and I think that she is not happy anymore. Not that she ever was very happy, but I really think she is miserable being alone in that apartment. So I called my uncle and he said he is working on getting her into a nursing home or an adult foster home. So that relieved me. While I was there I cleaned her kitchen and did her dishes. I tried to see if there was anything else she wanted or needed, tried to get her dinner ready, but she didn't want anything. I feel very helpless that I cannot do more for her, so I'm hoping that in a new place with more help and more people around she will improve.

I can't remember if I wrote this in an entry before, but I got my yearly review and it was outstanding. I was really happy and my boss recommended that HR move me "to the next classification level." So when I got the paperwork from HR I was very disappointed to see that they just raised me up to steps within my classification, which meant a whopping $30.00 per paycheck raise. So I called HR. I found out that they gave me a step increase AND a new classification but for some reason I didn't get a copy of the new classification info. I am now happy to know that with the step and the new classification it means an extra $150.00 a paycheck! WooHoo.

Speaking of money I'm working really really hard at changing my outlook on money. So far, it's going okay. I actually have $36.00 in the bank right now when normally at this point I'd be in the hole....so I'm getting there.

I've got a meeting to go to now...

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two