current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Co-worker Fired Details at 11
2005-02-18, 9:17 a.m.

Yesterday they fired one of my immediate co-workers. They didn't even give her a reason other than, "based on your past behavior." We are all shocked. It was very sudden and very unexpected. Now I realize this co-worker had some problems sometimes with authority and came across as unfriendly at times, but she was a very hard worker. One of the most intelligent people I know. And one of the most caring actually. And they fired her.

To the rest of us, it feels like they're looking for reasons. And they really are. They don't know what to do with us. Our department is being phased out. By this time next year, it probably won't exsist. Fortunately for me, I've got my other duties that can be expanded and I should be okay. One other co-worker is being trained in another duty that will be needed. That just left the one that got fired and one other one. I'm very sad. I'm going to miss her dearly.

Last night I was pretty out of it. Trying not to cry, because I really hate to cry, and just distract myself. At first Eagle was argumentative with me. I wanted to vent about the unfairness of it all and she was going on the offensive trying to convince me that management probably had a good reason to do it, and that I should be thankful I have a job, and not to stir the pot, etc. I finally said, "listen I'm angry, I've lost a good friend that I enjoyed working with, right now I need you to be sympathetic to that." And she was. I think she has a hard time dealing with my emotions sometimes. But she did good. She held me, she kissed my head, rubbed my back and shoulders and just let me vent. That's what I needed her for, and that is what she gave me.

I'm still sad about my sister moving, I haven't really grieved it yet. Probably because I don't see much of her during the week anyway, so I don't really notice her absence. This weekend it will probably become more evident to me that she is gone. She left a lot of her stuff behind. I don't think she really wanted to move, but she just could not handle Eagle. In some ways I don't blame her, but in other ways I wish she would have listened to her and done what was wanted from her. We could have helped her so much.

Well the bossbitch is back and I'm not taking any chances. Gotta jet.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two