current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Thank you to our pioneers
2004-02-24, 8:50 a.m.

Last week I read the incredible account of two women who have been together for 12 years, but decided to fly to San Francisco and make it legal. It was the most heart warming story. You should go read it.

It seriously gave me chills and brought tears to my eyes. These women had to camp out overnight to get a marriage license. The community support was awesome. The best part of the story was when a woman screamed out in the middle of the night, in a rain and wind storm, "after this if another straight person says we're not committed, I'll scream!" And its so true. Do the people fighting so hard against same sex marriage realize just how much we want this? Why is it so threatening to them? I can usually be so empathetic. I can usually see both sides to an argument, but this one, I just can't. Why will it hurt people of the world to allow two people who love each other to get married and enjoy the benefits of a legal union? We're not asking to be allowed to have sex in public, or even to discuss our sex lives in public. Is it because seeing two men's or two women's name on a marriage license will just FORCE them to picture us having sex? Is that what comes down to? How sad is that?

Please someone explain to me what is the threat? Cause I just don't get it.

MyLove equates it to the same things that blacks, and women, and any other minority that has had to fight for their rights. Except that while most people can accept the fact that people do not CHOOSE to be black or female, they cannot accept that people don't CHOOSE to be gay.

But if that's the case. Then tell me, why would we choose it? Why would we choose to not be given legal rights to marry the one we love. Why would we choose the heartache and discrimination? Just because we're stupid? What?

It is just unacceptable to me that people cannot realize that people do not choose to be gay, anymore than they chose to be straight.

It's just heartbreaking. But on the bright side we have couples like the one the flew to San Francisco and waited in the cold and rain for 24 hours to get that piece of paper that says they are legally married. And there were people handing out food and supplies to those waiting, and that is enough for me to have hope.

I wish sometimes that MyLove would embrace our community more, but I accept that she has her reasons for not doing that. As long as she can allow me to support the community the best that I can, that's all I can as for. And my gratitude will go out forever to the couples forging the way for the rest of us. Thank you all!

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two