current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Dear USA
2004-03-04, 2:20 p.m.

I finally found something that expresses exactly how I feel about the gay marriage issue. So I copied it from Here.

To the United States of America:

I am an American. I was born almost 29 years ago, an American and a Californian. I was born and raised under two flags espousing freedom and justice for all. I basked in the glow of the civil rights movements I only learned about in school, the struggles of the strong men and women before me, not knowing of a time when I felt unequal or un-free. Until now.

I am a mother. I raise two amazing children, with my partner of several years, who know that our family is �different� but take no shame in saying that they �have two mommies.� My partner and I face the same hurdles as every parent does in raising a family, conquering and overcoming the challenges of balancing out the needs of both work and school. We both drive our two children to school each and every morning, together and we picked them both up at the end of the day, together. We speak with our children�s teachers if not everyday, often enough for them to address us �Hi Moms!� when we are seen in the hallway together. Obviously if these licensed care providers, who work for both the state of California and the United States Federal Government see that we are loving, compassionate and excellent parents, why can�t everyone? You were blind, until now.

I am a taxpayer. Every two weeks, percentages of my hard-earned dollar go to Social Security, federal and state tax departments and state disability. I am a citizen. This is my duty to my country and my fellow Americans to assist in rebuilding those structures that have fallen; to aid the schools in providing books and materials for all students to learn of our history; to give back to those who have given me my Freedom. I have been used, until now.

I am a lesbian. And because of this one word, I am denied those inalienable rights that are allowed to all Americans. My children are denied health care benefits from my health care plans because they are not biologically mine, and yet they never hesitate when they look at me and say, �I love you Mom.� My partner is denied the access and opportunity to benefits that would be hers, if she were a man. What is there to fear in letting my children go to the doctor under the protection that I can provide? What is so scary about my partner adding her income to my tax form and signing her name? What is so frightening about the two of us saying, �I do?� Who would fear these things? And this is all I want. Freedom, equality, the things that many take for granted.

Religious groups and conservatives hide behind their doctrines and take away the very essence of what this country was founded on: Freedom. Was this country not founded on the backs of those fleeing religious prosecution? And what do we do to repay history and our debt to society but keep others down, bash them, and deny them their right to the freedoms and opportunities that others are given without a second thought to use and abuse as they see fit.

You can take my money and the green is equal in your eyes, but I am not. Is this hypocrisy clear to only me? Is this the kind of history you want our children to read about in the future? It has happened before and it will always happen: oppression, struggle, and fight. Constitutions were written by those who thought protection of our Freedom was necessary. And these Constitutions have stood the test of time. They were what built us up; please don�t let them be torn down.

My partner could serve as a United States Marine, defending this country, defending all of our Freedoms as long as she wasn�t asked and no one told. Young men and women can be sent all over the world, defending other cultures and religious beliefs, and they die in the name of Freedom, but are denied that same Freedom right here at home. How can we fight and protect in the name of equality, and yet not practice what we preach?

The exclusionary visions breading in the religious sectors are haunting and unnerving. Church AND state are to be feared when the lines cross. I do not believe that your religions taught you to hate, to discriminate. But that is what is shown, that is how you are portrayed, that is who you become when you deny me my Freedom from religion. What we believe may be different, but that is what makes us both Americans. And I am not any less of an American because I do not discriminate against you.

If you are a lawmaker and have read this letter, thank you. It is your job to protect this great Nation and serve its citizens. Do just that. Serve our citizens by bringing about change � bringing about Freedom and equality for all, not just the few who fit into the mold of those who are in power. Look deep into your doctrine. Look through the pages of your regulations and codes and tell me where I am wrong. Come and see my family and me, look into our eyes and tell us that we are not Americans like you. We are citizens, hardworking and true, real Americans and we want our Freedom.

Rachel Giarratano

[email protected]

Let's spread the word.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two