current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Movie reviews
2006-03-27, 9:34 a.m.

This was the weekend for renting movies. We watched five movies this weekend. So, my entry today is going to be a movie review:

Amityville Horror: It was okay. It was a little hokey though. I've read the book, and seen the prior version, in fact I've had a bit of an obsession about Amityville for a very long time. So of course I'd like it. This one seemed to give a bit more info on the original murders as well as the possible 'source of evil' that other stories about it did not. It also included some more in the special features part of the DVD that was cool.

Broken Flowers: It's Bill Murray's newest film. It was a lot like Lost in Translation. A lot of quiet/silent scenes with him just staring out windows, or off into space. It was about a rich ex-Don Juan type guy who never did settle down and is now lonley. He finds out he may have a 19 year old son so he sets off on a reluctant journey to find out which of the women he was with 19 years ago gave birth to this son. Each encounter is different and strange in some ways. It was very frustrating that he did not ask just simple questions of these women. Again, just more silence. I would not recommend this movie.

Rent: I was very excited to get this movie. I saw the stage version and I've got the soundtrack. Overall it was pretty good. It stuck very close to the stage version, just a few little add ins which were tolerable. If you liked the stage version, you'll probably like this too. Plus the characters really grew on me.

Saw II: I did not want to see this one, but Eagle did, so I tolerated it. It was gorey as I suspected. But it does have a way of keeping you on your seat and rooting for these people. Plus you don't feel too horrible when they die because Jigsaw doesn't seem to ever harm the "innocent." Pretty good if you like suspensful, gorey, horror flicks.

In Her Shoes: Two sisters one hot and irresponsible, the other plain and boringly responsible. They get into a big fight, the hot one goes to visit their long lost grandma and grows up. The dull one finds herself and falls in love. Blah blah blah. It was kind of dull, but okay.

Other than the movies we didn't do too much. I was feeling kind of down and trying hard to keep up a good face because right now I know that Eagle is relying on me to be strong and carry her through to the time that she has to go to jail. However, I was feeling the need to be pampered a bit myself and I tried to express this to her. She got defensive and we fought a bit, but nothing horrible. We made up and she said she'd do better. I doubt it, but for now I'll settle for her just getting through the next week and half without having a nervous breakdown.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two