current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Dilemma
2007-04-03, 9:03 a.m.

I have a bit of a dilemma. As you know, Eagle has now been sober for a year and 8 months. That's a huge deal for which I am very proud of her. Seriously I am very proud of her and ecstatic that she has come so far. Our life has mellowed out into a very pleasant, calm, and loving one.

Recently, we were invited to go on a camping trip with a group of people from our bowling league. It sounds like a lot of fun. There's four to five people per cabin, the cabins are right on the beach, we'd have the whold place to ourselves, we're going to have at least one community meal, bonfires, etc. It just sounds like a great time to me. But to Eagle, it sounds like it's all about drinking and getting drunk, therefore, she doesn't want to go. Now I totally respect that she doesn't want to put herself into a situation that might trigger her like that, but first of all, we do not KNOW that it's all about the drinking. Yeah, I'm sure some people will drink, but these are older people who don't appear to be the type to go camping as a reason to get trashed. Second, is she always going to hibernate to avoid situations where drinking may be involved? It's frustrating. But I know me well enough to know that I will go with her decision on this. I'd rather not go, then risk her sobriety. But it's a dilemma nonetheless.

Instead of going on the trip, we may invite a couple friend of ours that doesn't really drink too much on a camping trip. Or we may just go on our own somewhere. But I just feel like we're missing a chance to bond with some friends and have a fun getaway. I love spending time with Eagle alone, don't get me wrong, but we spend 98% of our time alone. It would be nice to have fun in a group once in awhile. It's just too damn bad that most groups seem to have to have alcohol! Ugh.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two