current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Eagle's Brother......DICK
2005-04-28, 8:32 a.m.

This is going to be long and probably rambling, but I've got a lot on my mind.

It's about eagle's brother. To shorten it, I'm going to call him Dick, and that is a perfect name for him.

Dick is older than Eagle by about five years. He is married to a very sweet woman and they have a three year old child together whom adores is Aunt's Eagle and Seeking, and who is adored right back.

So Dick had his problems in the past with drugs and alcohol. He had a bad cocaine problem and at one point came damn close to spending some serious time in prison for vehicular manslaughter. He managed to get off with the help of his high priced attorneys and the fact that the driver of the car that he ran into was also drunk. In the past he has tormented his little sister to tears many times.

Eagle has alwasy been afraid of her brother. He is a puny man, but with a big chip on his shoulder, shit that don't stink, and a holier than thou attitude. But other than his bi-weekly drunk phone calls to family, he seemed to have conquered most of his demons. Until last night.

I'm not sure if I mentioned it or not, but Eagle and I are planning a 40th anniversary party for her parents. We decided a few weeks ago to check with her brother and his wife to see if they'd like to help in the planning, and if they had any ideas/suggestions. Her brother also bought her a guinea pig cage for our little one and for the past two weeks had been making plans to come over and drop it off and talk about the party. Well yesterday he finally came over.

Apparently around 5:00 he showed up TANKED. I was on my way home, so I heard this through Eagle and our friend Patty (who was there at the time). Apparently he came in the door, took one look at Eagle and went off. He started calling her a homosexual and telling her she looks like a man and telling her she couldn't come to HIS home again looking like that, and on and on. He apparently even got in her face to the point where she thought he was going to hit her. A few minutes later his wife came in (in her own car) with their son. Dick grabbed Eagle and took her upstairs so they could "talk." He cornered her upstairs long enough to berate the hell out of her, until his wife finally came up and convinced him to come back downstairs. From there he got more and more loud until his wife decided that their three year old son did not need to see his dad like that, so she left.

In the meantime, he turned to our friend Patty and told her he didn't like her (he just met her) and asked her why she was there, and just proceeded to be a complete ass.

Now flash forward to 6:00 when I walk in the door. I walk in and I can tell things are tense. Eagle looks like she's been crying, her brother, however, was being very sweet. So I wasn't really sure what to think. I came in, sat down and it didn't take long for me to figure out he was loaded. He continued to slam on her and I piped up in the nicest way I know how and he'd apologize, then he'd make some crack about what to call me...am I Eagle's boyfriend or girlfriend or what? And on and on with his homophobic self.

All in all he was there for another four hours. He did settle down and some point and started tell Eagle how proud he was of her. He turned to me and thanked me for all that I'd done for Eagle. He looked at family photos and reminisced. I thought that maybe Eagle was okay, and I HOPED that she was looking at him in a new light. Looking at him from the perspective of an adult who did not have to be intimidated by him anymore. He has his demons and as demonstrated, he had not conquered them as well as originally thought.

Finally he left. I had to take Patty home and Eagle wanted to be alone. So I drove Patty home and Eagle, as it turns out called her mom. Her mom was livid at her brother and plans to tell him so. Eagle thinks that'll just cause more problems, but I don't know. He needs to be told. I wish in some ways that I'd been there when he made her cry because I'd have had some words for his drunk ass.

I felt so bad for Eagle. It was another example of why she is the way she is. I felt helpless to make her feel better, but I think the more we talked about it, she started to see it in a healthier way. I told her that she shines like gold compared to him right now. Here we thought he had it all together, wife, son, job, summer home up North, beautiful home here, cars, trips, etc....but he's still a drunk. He's still driving drunk. He killed a man that way, yet he's still doing it. He doesn't have it together, not even close. Eagle may have her issues, and her problems, but she's not risking hers and others lives. She is not berating her family for no reason. She is admitting her issues and dealing with them, not drinking them away. She should be proud of herself. He should be ashamed of himself.

I just want to choke the little weasel now that I know the things he said BEFORE I got home. I have half a mind to call him up and tell him to never come over to our home drunk again. He does NOT have the right to lecture Eagle. He does not have the right to be rude and obnoxious to me, to Eagle, or to our friends. He does not have the right to sit in judgment of us. He does not have the right to be the biggest fucking ass there is! Ugh. I'm so pissed.

He has not right to hurt the person that I love. No right. He may be her brother but if he ever does that again, I'll ask him to leave, and if he doesn't, I'll call the cops and they can make him leave. I will not stand for that. Eagle has come SO DAMN FAR and he is going to sit in judgment of her? Because her hair is too short? Because she's a lesbian?

He said to me as he was leaving, "well I love her, but if she would just keep her shit together and not cause anymore problems." I said, "it seems to me she hasn't caused any problems in well over a year now." He said, "yeah I guess you're right." Then he started asking me if he was too obnoxious, I didn't know what to say because at that point I didn't know about the things he said before I got there. I wish I had. I'd have told him.

On his way home he called and wanted to talk to Eagle. I told him she would call him in the morning (she didn't want to talk to him). He said, "well thanks, you've pissed me off now. Tell her to forget it." What a dick!!!

WHat is wrong with him? Why, why, why, did he have to do that. I pray to God that it doesn't cause Eagle serious harm on her progress. I hope that she can see this as HIS fuck up, and not hers. I hope she lets everything he said roll off of her. You can't let something a fucking drunk says to you affect you. YOu just can't.

And this party, I don't know what's to become of that. The original idea was for Eagle and I to have it at the condo club house. But of course her brother said, "oh no, we'll have it at my house!" He just wants to show of his fucking house. He wants to flaunt his accomplishments, his THINGS, his ridiculously big and overpriced BBQ, which I suspect is evidence of severe penis envy issues. I told Eagle last night, we should just stick to the plan and send out the invites and have them come to the club house. I can't even imagine what this is going to turn out like now that he's decided to be such an ass!

I just want to scream because Eagle has come so far....so far...and her brother can walk in and slice her down in a word. He's such a small little weasely man too. I could take him, I know I could.

Eagle had cooked a wonderful meal of roast beef and potatos too, and when he ate it, he kept saying, "no who really cooked it." He couldn't give her credit for anything. He wouldn't believe that she is the one that keeps the house clean. He said on more than one occassion that he can't possible see what I see in her. He was just so insulting and judgmental and people like that make me want just scream. He's icky, he gives me that sick feeling. Under the surface I guarantee he's got some really sick thoughts. Everytime he got up to pee he left the door wide open, and the bathroom is right off the livingroom. He made comments about his penis. He pretended to get all flustered if he THOUGHT we were talking about lesbian sex (which we weren't). He's come some really deep seeded issues under there. He needs help. Bad.

So that was the visit with the brother. The only good thing to come out of it is was that now that I've seen his true colors he doesn't intimidate me at all. I will never sit there and let him intimidate me or Eagle again. I don't give a shit who he thinks he is. He's nothing but a fucked up drunk who's heading towards disaster if he's driving around drunk like he is. His opinions do not count. He means nothing in the scope of it all.

I just hope Eagle sees this too. I jus hope he did not set her back. I want her to look at him and see what he really is and see that he has no power over her.

So that was our evening last night. Fun huh? I needed to rant that out bad. I feel better now. But I still wanna throttle him.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two