current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Speeding to DQ
2005-04-29, 9:38 a.m.

Yesterday was not a very good day.

First, I realized that I took Eagle's car keys in my purse. She had somewhere to go yesterday. So I asked my boss's boss if I could leave at 1:00 for the day to bring her keys to her. He was the biggest ass. I finally asked him why he gives me such a hard time. I have only asked twice in the past five years if I could leave early. Twice. And both times he has given me the hardest time. He said I do that for people with problems with attendance. I said I haven't had an attendance problem in four years! He agreed. But still said my reasons for wanting to leave early are strange. Well let's see, one was to drop my car off at a body shop and pick up the rental. Is that strange? And this time because I grabbed my roommate's keys and now she's stranded...is that strange??? He said, "this is almost like aliens landing or something." I said, "what????" Turns out I didn't have to leave becuase Eagle's mom had an extra key and she drove over there to give it to her. Crisis averted, but I was pissed all day.

So then I get home and Eagle decides she wants DQ. So I go to get it and decide on the way to go visit my step-dad, I pull on to the street he lives and got pulled over for speeding! My first speeding ticket ever. I'm so bummed. But the cop was cool and said if I don't have any other tickets to make a court date and he'll recommend no points. I guess that's good.

So I go see my step-dad he was kind of cool towards me. We hadn't really spoken since the whole telephone ordeal, but I felt better knowing he was alive and well.

Then on the way home Eagle's brother's wife calls me. She decided that since her husband was such a "fucking ass" and all, that she was going to pay to rent a hall and have a big sit down dinner for Eagle's parents anniversary. I knew this was NOT going to go over well with Eagle. I tried to impart that, and she was cool. She said to let her know. Also on my way home Eagle's Aunt from Indiana called, having heard about the altercation she had with her brother and wanted to know if Eagle was okay. I tried to assure her that she was and promised to get Eagle to call her the next day.

Finally I get back home and I start to tell Eagle what her sister-in-law said about the party and just as I suspected she was no happy. She wants to do this for her parents and we both decided that she should do it her way. Which is we're going to rent out our condo's clubhouse, have everyone bring a dish to pass and BBQ some kind of meat on the grill.

Then Eagle started talking about her brother and she showed me the 10 page letter that she wrote him. It's actually a very good, mature, and to the point letter. I was very proud of her.

After we went over the letter her mood lightened. She said, "you know after seeing the stress my brother's actions put on my parents, I realize that I can never take another drink because one drink can escalate into that kind of a situation." That is remarkable. She has handled this so maturely it puts her 40 year old dickhead brother to shame.

So this is just another example of why I fell in love with Eagle to begin with. She has her problems, I don't deny that. But she has never denied it herself and since we've been together she has been willing to actually look at herself and admit her problems and finally do something about it. Her parents see it, I see it, and now, hopefully her brother sees it too.

The one thing that her brother succeeded in doing with his actions is proving that he does not know his baby sister at all. He doesn't know her life, her dreams, her goals, her hopes, her fears, and her accomplishments. He does not know what a special person he has for a sister. Maybe he will someday.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two