current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Emotionally Exhausted
2006-07-05, 10:06 a.m.

Not much new to report. Doing okay. My ankle seems to be more sore the past few days. I don't know why, but I'm getting through it.

I'm going for a second opinion before I have any bone grafts done.

This weekend, Eagle and I went through boxes and boxes of stuff that her mom had in a closet from her sister who died about 12 years ago at the age of 24. It's a very tragic story really.

Here sister had leukemia when she was a child, and they managed to put it into remission finally after many treatments. She went on to have a pretty normal life. She went to college and graduated, got a great job in her field, got engaged, and then bam her cancer came back. A few months later she was dead. Very, very sad. Anyway, we went through all the cards and letters that people sent her over the last few months of her life. Keep in mind that included her college graduation, her birthday, her engagement, her wedding, Christmas, and many get well wishes. There was literally two full boxes of cards and letters. Eagle and I read them and laughed at the funny things people said to cheer her up, and cried at the touching things they said when she was gone. It was an emotionally exhausting task. However, I feel like I know her better now through other people's eyes. I also feel like I know a lot of her family members better based on the things they said in their letters to her.

So that's about it. I'd better get some work done.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two