current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

prayer in schools
2003-07-15, 9:12 a.m.

I may have just caused a riff in my already angsty relationship with my father. In this entry, I explained our past and history and how he has now FOUND GOD and declared me a sinner for loving a woman. Anyway....he's been sending me all kinds of "christian" emails. That lastest, goes something like this:

Mary had a little lamb,

His fleece was white as snow.

And everywhere that Mary went,

The Lamb was sure to go.

He followed her to school each day,

T'wasn't even in the rule.

It made the children laugh and play,

To have a Lamb at school.

And then the rules all changed one day,

Illegal it became;

To bring the Lamb of God to school,

Or even speak His Name.!

Every day got worse and worse,

And days turned into years.

Instead of hearing children laugh,

We heard gun shots and tears.

What must we do to stop the crime,

That's in our schools today?

Let's let the Lamb come back to school,

And teach our kids to pray!

If you agree, please pass this on. It is said that 86% of Americans believe in God. Therefore I have a very hard time understanding why there is such a mess about having "In God We Trust" on our money and having God in the Pledge of Allegiance. Why don't we just tell the 14% to shut up and sit down????

=====================================

Normally I've just deleted the emails....but this time...I just HAD to respond. And, of course, I didn't just respond to him...I replied to all the recipients.

My Response:

Great idea....but tell me who will it be that decides which prayer and to which God it will be said? The United States of America is the land of the free. And because of that, each person has the right to worship in the manner they choose. Therefore, it would be impossible to have group prayer in schools without conflicting with someone's belief.

Instead of worrying about prayer in schools. I would suggest that teaching your children to pray at home and to be good Christians, Buddists, Catholics, Jews, Spiritualists, or even Atheists.....and above all good human beings would be the most important step to making this world a better place. And if you and your children really feel the need to pray in school....then no one is stopping them from closing their eyes and silently communicting with their God. Sincerely, Seeking Me

So now I wait for the proverbial "shit to hit the fan." I'm actually kind of looking forward to it. If my dad is going to follow the herd...then let him speak up and speak his own mind. Somehow I highly doubt that will happen, it will mean that he actually has to use his brain and excerise some thought....I don't think he's capable of that.

Yes, I'm feeling anger about this situation. As much as I try to glaze over it...it's there. My dad has choosen to find yet another thing to alienate himself from me. And that hurts.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two