current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Almost forgot this...
2004-07-19, 9:35 a.m.

I almost forgot. I did something I've NEVER done in my life on Friday. And I did it well.

Okay a little backstory. Eagle has a neighbor named Ebony. She's 20 years old and hell on wheels. She's hell on wheels. She's all about being a young, strong, black woman. She doesn't back down, she has major attitude, and doesn't take shit from anyone. But she's cool to hang out with on occasion. Sometimes she comes over, brings a joint, and we sing karaoke, Eagle cooks dinner and we have a fun evening. However, over the past few months, she's been taking more and more. Coming over and helping herself to the last of Eagle's food, just barging in when she wants, using Eagle's car and not replacing the gas....etc. So a few times Eagle and her have gone round and round about it, but they always end up smoothing things over.

Anyway, Friday Eagle was really sick. She had eaten some bad egg salad the day before and had a bad case of food poisoning. Friday around 5:00 Ebony comes over uninvited, and brings her brother, as well as hamburger and requests that Eagle cook the burgers and smoke a joint with her and her brother. Now, the last thing Eagle needed was company, but not only that, but company that wanted her to get up and cook them something! Eagle, as usual, did not say no.

Fast forward to 6:00 when I get there after work. I walk in and Eagle looks pale as anything, ready to pass out. Ebony is on the phone talking loudly to whomever. Her brother is on the couch smoking. The puppy that we were watching is barking. And my blood pressure skyrocketed.

I took one look around and actually did something I've never done before. I took over and stood up for Eagle. I told Ebony and their brother that Eagle was not going to cook them anything and that they needed to leave so that she could rest. They took it well, and left. It was a small thing for most people, but for me...it was huge! But when I saw this person that I love, looking like death warmed over and these people and the chaos everywhere, I didn't even think twice about it. I just took charge and damn, I'm proud of myself for that.

But best of all, I saw the greatful look on Eagle's face and I was glad that I could do that for her. I stood up to someone who normally would intimidate me to no end....and I did it well...and strong...and I feel great about it.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two