current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Work feelings and money
2005-08-08, 9:44 a.m.

Okay it's Monday. I'm feeling good. But very busy at work today. I came into my new boss calling from Chicago to give me an idea of an article to include in the newsletter that we are putting out this week.

My co-worker lately seems kind of pissy. I don't know her all that well though, so I'm just going to assume that maybe she gets that way and not take it personally. But I do understand that I am now doing the job that she has been doing for the past year and a half alone. So therein lies the potential for some feelings of being pushed out of her duties, or of me "taking over." But I am far from taking over anything. I have taken some initiative with some stuff that I know has rubbed her slightly worng, but I can't help that. I need to prove myself in this job too. I'm not taking work away from her, I'm taking over new work that is coming our way. I know in time she'll see the wisedom in it. She is also 25 and very wet behind the ears. Yes she has the degree and the exprience in this job, but I have the overall life experience and 15 years with this particular organization...so it does equal out in the end.

In the meantime, I'll be patient, I'll make sure not to take things personally, and I'll be open in communication with her so that she knows where I'm coming from and that I'm not out to make her look back by any means, but only to make US as a TEAM look good. And to validate the decision that the Powers That Be made to give me this job.

Home life is good. It was stressful at times this weekend. Eagle is supposedly clean from the ephedra...I'm not sure I compeltely believe her or not. I do know that all week she promised me she would not by an ounce of weed because we needed the money, but she did anyway. So we are broker than we've ever been. I had to scrape up change just to get to work. That pisses me off.

Last night we went to see the Shock (WNBA) for free. We had free tickets, but it cost us $10.00 in parking. Pluse we spent about $15.00 in pop, popcorn, and a souvenior. Now all I really wanted was a pop, but she got the rest of it and then on the way home realizes she has no money for cigarettes and says, "we shouldn't have gone to the game." I said no, "the game is not what put us in this position, it was the ounce of pot." Of course that did not go over well and after a few harsh words back and forth we did not speak for the rest of the night. But damn it if we'll blame a $20.00 night out on the reason we're so broke. That's not it and I'm not going to pretend that it is. She has to start being responsible for the money that she spends. Period.

I've already told her that I am no longer giving her money out of my check for pot. She will have to work that out on her own from now on and by God I'm going to stick to it. That will keep this from happening in the future. I'll be damned if I have to go without like this again. Damned.

So that's about it. I've got another practice session with my mentor this morning, so I've got to run.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two