current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Five years
2006-09-11, 9:43 a.m.

So it's been five years today already. It hardly seems possible. I'll never forget that day. I was at work in Detroit, but I lived in Canada at the time. They evacuated our building. It was surreal to step outside and see military guards with huge guns and wearing combat fatigues standing all the corners. People were moving quickly to get home. I, however, was homeless because the closed the US/Canada border. Luckily a co-worker of mine who had not left yet, saw me looking kind of lost and took me home with her. I stayed at her house until around 11:00 p.m. when the border opened and my husband (at the time) came and picked me up. My work gave me the rest of the week off because of the traffic backups at the border that week. By the next week things were settling down and I was able to resume my commute.

It's really hard to believe all that happened five years ago. I hope that we're safer now than we were. I gotta believe that we are. I know that I am more aware of my surroundings now then I was before, and if I am, I'm sure that many other people are. That alone makes us safer.

My thoughts go out to the families of those lost on this day five years ago.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two