current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Long and good weekend
2006-09-25, 10:17 a.m.

Weekend was good. Friday we bowled and I had a strange night. The first game I could do no wrong and bowled a 193! My average is 110. So yeah I did great and I won high handicap and over average, $70.00. Ask me what I bowled the next two games? A 98 and an 88. How bad can I get? But to my defense, my leg did not hurt at all the first game, but did the second and third, so maybe that was the problem. Who knows? We ended up tying the first game and losing the second and third.

Saturday we were supposed to have some friends of Eagle's over, but they cancelled so we stayed in and just vegged. Eagle watched t.v. and I played poker from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. I'm serious. I did okay, winning enough to keep me in the games. I ended up winning a $25.00 tournament too which helped. Then I entered a free tournament with a $200.00 first place prize. There were over 900 entrants, I managed to stay in and do pretty darn well until....I got a pair of 8's. Dang it that someone called my raise then forced me "all in" and they won with a pair of Jacks. Poopy. I ended up in 36th place. Now 36th out of 900 is pretty good if you ask me, but now ask me what place they start paying out at? 30th. Yep, six places out of winning some money. That's the story of my poker life. Needless to say after playing 15 hours of poker on Saturday, I am now kind of (just kind of) pokered out.

Sunday we went to Frankenmuth and had a nice day. We were there with her parents and aunt and uncle. We shopped the little quiant overpriced stores for awhile. They have a really great and HUGE bead store that I went in. I picked out some beads here and there, figuring that I'd got about $25.00 or $30.00 worth. I take my things to the counter to check out and the cashier says, "that'll be $76.77." I nearly fell over. I said, "that can't possibly be right." The young beautiful thing at the register got very indignant and started adding things up. "Well you know these to things are real leather and the are $1.00 each, I said "yes I know that makes it $2.00, where's the other $75.00?" Well after going item by item, it turns out she had rung up my 12 $.15 beads as 12 $1.50 beads. Makes a HUGE difference. Then on top of that, I had miscalculated some beads too and put back some $.50 beads so eventually my new total was $29.00. That's much easier to swallow.

After dinner at the Bavarian Inn, we went to the Cheese Haus....mmmmm good stuff there let me tell you. We got home around 6:30 and forced ourselves to stay up till 8:30. I fell asleep by 9:30 and here I am back at work. Another weekend gone.

I did a lot of walking on my foot between bowling on Friday and Frankenmuth on Sunday so my leg is kinda sore still. I so wish that would get back to normal and not be sore every single day. Eventually...hopefully.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two