current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Maturity feels good sometimes
2006-10-05, 4:48 p.m.

It's been another busy week. ONly one more week before my big project debutes. I'm excited and I think based on the feedback I've gotten that all will go well.

I came into work yesterday and saw that my co-worker who shares the same title as me was talking to our supervisor. I didn't think much of it until our supervisor came and asked me to join them. He started being very criptic and saying things like, my co-worker and I should communicate and get everything out in the open and air any hidden resentments, etc....I was truly lost. I just kept thinking.."great, what could I possibly have done to make her upset enough to go to our boss?" But I kept an open mind and she and I met apart. Turns out that she THOUGHT I had to have hidden resentments of her based on her schedule lately. But I didn't. I told her that I knew she has a probject going and I respected that. She then said that she's had to quell her feelings of "being in competition" with me and she assumed I had to. I told her not really. I said, "I've worked here for going on 16 years, I'm just happen to have gotten this promotion finally." "YOu on the other hand are young and here with a degree with a long road ahead of you, I could see how that would bring out more competitiveness." She was kind of shocked that all her assumptions were wrong and she'd been feeling guilty about things for no reason. It was kind of weird because it made me feel very wise and mature. She is only 25, I am 36 and I never felt the differences that dramatically until then. It was a nice talk though. It's amazing to find out what others are thinking sometimes.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two