current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

Trauma
2004-11-12, 8:32 a.m.

Happy Veteran's Day to all the people who have risked their lives to protect our country. I give you all credit and honor for your service.

My Veteran's Day was spent recovering from some major trauma. Where to start....

Wednesday after work, Eagle and I decided to go pick up my sister's kitten who was being left alone in her old apartment until she could find a home for it. So rather than leave the poor thing alone, we decided to bring him to our house until we found a home for him. We got home and right away the kitten hid, which is pretty normal. I'm sure I mentioned somewhere that we got a dog from the Humane Society. I'm also pretty sure I said how GOOD of a dog he was. And that was mostly true. But for some reason he did not like this kitten. He kept trying to get to him, and we just kept distracting him away. Then Eagle thought I should hold the kitten and let the dog sniff him and get comfortable. That's not what the dog had in mind. For some reason Ivan (the dog) decided that the kitten had to die. He charged me and actually bit my hand to get to the kitten, which he did get. I screamed the dog got the kitten in his mouth and swung him around like a rag doll. It was the worst sight I have EVER seen. It took a few minutes for Eagle and I to finally get the kitten away from the dog, but by then it was too late. The kitten's internal organs were protruding through a hole in his abdomen. My hand was swelled and black and blue, luckily he did not break skin. We corralled him into the basement, and took the still alive kitten to the emergency vet. Unfortunately the vet told us it would be several hundred dollars to even begin trying to save the kitten, he recommended we put him down. So, sadly, we did.

We decided that we cannot risk Ivan going nuts on any more animals or people so we took him back to the Humane Society. Both of us said very tearful good byes to him and the staff was really supportive. They agreed that agression like that cannot be tolerated. It was all just so very tragic.

During the entire period Eagle was amazing. She and I work so well together, we finish each other's thoughts and sentences, we provide a comfort to each other than neither of us have experienced. I cannot imagine going through that with anyone else. I swear that she is maturing very rapidly and is finally starting to see that the behaviors she exhibited before are just not appropriate at her age, nor are they really even fun anymore. Maturity really does look good on her too.

After the events of the evening/day, Eagle and I went to Meadowbrook Hall and took a tour of the beautiful 100 room manion. It was truly wonderful. It's one of Eagle's favorite places and I had never been. I am so greatful that she enjoys things like that. SHe is the first person I've been with who does. After the tour we ate at Olga's Restaurant and when she went to pay she bought me some spinach pie to take home. I was amazed. I never even told her that I LOVE their spinach pie. She just KNEW. I looked at her in disbelief and asked her, how she knows this stuff; because this is not the firs time she has shown such insight into me. She said, "I love you." That's it. And for the first time in my life, I don't doubt it. I truly believe that she loves me more than anyone ever has. It's a pretty awesome feeling. Beyond description.

Not that I'd ever want to experience the trauma of the past 48 hours again, but if I had to, I'd want her by my side. She has become my best friend, my protector, my confidant, my cheerleader, and my lover....and I truly love her more than I ever thought I could. Somehow I think that in time, it'll only just get better.

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two