current | archives | profile | links | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

reality tv lies
2004-02-13, 8:15 a.m.

It's Friday the 13th and based on my week up till now...it's shaping up to be a great day!

So last night I watched My Big Fat Obnoxious Fiancee. I had vowed that I would never watch that show, but I did. Curiosity got the better of me. I'll admit, it had it's funny moments, but the problem I have with it is that those moments come at the expense of people who aren't in on the joke. I find it sad that there are shows on television telling people to lie to their families in order to get a million dollars. I don't think lying is ever acceptable, and I don't think society should either.

I could see this girl's parents trying hard to accept her fiancee because they want what makes her happy. But I could also see the anguish in them knowing that she's making a huge mistake. Of course they don't realize that she is doing this for the money. And frankly, when it's all said and done...if I were her family I'd be pissed. I'd be pissed that she put me through such mental torture so that she can get a million dollars? That's just sad.

So while I'm a huge reality t.v. junkie, I won't watch shows where not all of the participants are aware of the game. I just don't think it's right.

On a positive note, MyLove and I are getting a hotel room for the weekend! I can't wait.

Happy Friday the 13th to you!

last - next

Moving on - 2007-06-22
End of our trip - 2007-06-15
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30
Updates - 2007-05-30

Favorite Reads
amblus
lv2write00
hothead
iambucket
marn
la-the-sage
jenniam
dragprincess
noaddedme
pischina
thecrankyone
take-two